Board of Directors

The Board of Directors consists of each of the three co-founders (Martin, Knighton, and Jeffery F. Miller) and Dr. Barbosa, who was elected to the board in 2018.

Miguel Barbosa

Miguel holds a PhD in viral oncology from University of California, Los Angeles and a B.S., in Genetics from the University of California, Davis. Former CSO Assembly Biosciences (2016 – 2017), Executive VP & CSO Mirna Therapeutics (2015-2016), VP and Head of Immunology Research & External Innovation Janssen (2010-2015), VP Discovery Research Johnson & Johnson (2005-2009).  Vivante Health Board member and SAB member of Aro Biotherapeutics.

Kevin Cameron

Mr. Cameron brings a strong entrepreneurial, legal, and transactional background. JD, University of Chicago; General Counsel for Moxidigital and North Pointe Communications; Co-founder and President of Glass, Lewis and Company, a significant worldwide shareholder services company.

James L. Knighton

James L. Knighton has held senior executive positions in R&D, marketing and finance during his career. Most recently he was Chief Executive Office of Xyphos (2017-2019), which was acquired by Astellas Pharma Inc. in 2019. Earlier he joined Caliper Life Sciences as Chief Financial Officer and later served as its President (1999-2004). As Sugen’s Chief Financial Officer (1998-1999), he oversaw its acquisition by Pfizer. Additionally, Mr. Knighton worked at Chiron (1994-1998) and DuPont/DuPont Merck (1985-1994). Mr. Knighton earned an MBA from Wharton School of Business and a Master’s degree in Genetics from the University of Pennsylvania.

David W. Martin, MD

Duke Medical School; Professor of Medicine and Biochemistry, UCSF and Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute; SVP of R&D at Genentech (1982-1990); Executive VP of R&D at DuPont Merck (1991-1993); President, Chiron Therapeutics (1994-1995) and founder and CEO of Eos Biotechnology (1997-2003).

Jeffery F. Miller, Ph.D.

Pylum’s third co-founder, is consultant and chairman of the company’s Scientific Advisory Board. Currently, Dr. Miller is M. Philip Davis Chair of the Department of Microbiology, Immunology & Molecular Genetics, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA. His Ph.D. is from Tufts University School of Medicine, and his postdoctoral experience was at Stanford University School of Medicine with Professors Stanley Falkow and Lucy Tompkins.